HomeSocial Post
World Cup screams for a new winner and this final we will have a new one
Creator : Shruti Banerjee
Category : News

The final of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is all set to be played at Lord’s on Sunday, July 14 between the hosts England and New Zealand who were earlier considered as the underdogs.

Both the teams will play for their maiden title as they have never won a single title throughout the years. New Zealand was the finalists in the 2015 edition, England has reached the final after 27 years. Thus, the title will be crucial for both the side.

New Zealand convincingly beat India in the first semi-finals which were rain-affected and shifted to the reserved day. Indian bowlers did pretty well and restricted New Zealand within 239, India batsmen failed to a chase down the total.

Trent Boult was the first man who provided the first breakthrough and Matt Henry was the next who was also there to dismantle India’s line up and left India struggling at 24-4.Although Ravindra Jadeja and MS Dhoni tried their best, they failed to takethe side over the finish line.

On the other hand, England successfully beat Australia, one of the strongest teams in the tournament. They had faced a couple of losses, they came back strongly and registered back-to-back wins. They restricted Australia within a below-par score of 223.

Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid and Jofra Archer dismantled Australia’s line up successfully that they couldn’t finish their 50 overs and all were bundled within 49 overs.
England openers Jason Roy played a blistering 85 off 65 and made the winning foundation for his side. They reached the target with ease in 32.1 overs.

Both the teams will try to maintain their formidable form and continue their winning momentum. Whoever wins the title, will be big as the world is going to get their first new champion after 23 years.

Probable XI:

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (C), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (WK), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (WK), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson.

Image cr-Twitter/Screengrab- (Carousel Image)